News in Brief UK Politics

Labour Leadership Contest: Five Reach Next Round

Written by Callum Williams

Five of the six Labour leadership candidates have reached the next round of the contest. Clive Lewis dropped out on the final day of nomination with many of his supporters switching to back Emily Thornberry.

The five candidates through to the next round are:

  • Keir Starmer – 88 MPs/MEPs nominations
  • Rebecca Long-Bailey – 33 MPs/MEPs nominations
  • Lisa Nandy – 31 MPs/MEPs nominations
  • Jess Phillips – 23 MPs/MEPs nominations
  • Emily Thornberry – 23 MPs/MEPs nominations

All five candidates for deputy leader also reached the nomination threshold and will proceed to the next round, the candidates are:

  • Angela Rayner – 88 MPs/MEPs nominations
  • Ian Murray – 34 MPs/MEPs nominations
  • Dawn Butler – 29 MPs/MEPs nominations
  • Rosena Allin Khan – 23 MPs/MEPs nominations
  • Richard Burgon – 22 MPs/MEPs nominations

The next round of the contest requires candidates to gain the nominations of either 33 Constituency Labour Parties or 3 affiliate societies of which two must be trade unions by the 14th February. Those who reach the nomination threshold will get on the ballot of the Labour membership in an alternative vote system. The new leader and deputy leader will be announced at a special conference on the 4th April.

About the author

Callum Williams

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: